Industry honours electronics design engineers of tomorrow

10 May 2017


The achievements of some of the UK’s brightest and most talented young electronics engineers have been celebrated and highlighted.

An awards dinner hosted at the Houses of Parliament on Wednesday 3rd May honoured the inaugural cohort, celebrating and highlighting the achievements of some of the brightest and most talented young electronics engineers in the UK today. Sponsored by RS Components and intended to seek out electronics engineers under 30, working or studying in the UK, who are either making substantial impact during the first few years of their working life, or are still studying, but demonstrating potential to deliver significant future innovations in electronics.

By shining a light on the breadth and quality of work, this new generation of electronics design engineers, the purpose of the awards dinner is to help inspire and encourage new entrants to the industry.

The distinguished selection panel included: Isabella Mascarenhas (The IET’s Young Professionals Engagement Manager), Tony Fish (co-founder, FabLab London), Paul Hide (COO, techUK), Dr Lucy Rogers (engineering and science writer and broadcaster), Lindsley Ruth (CEO, RS Components) and Richard Wilson (editor, Electronics Weekly).

Lindsley Ruth, CEO RS Components, highlighted the entrepreneurial and altruistic qualities of many of the winners: “What impressed me most is that they demonstrate entrepreneurial spirit with a clear focus on innovation and efficiency of their designs. They show the confidence to take a risk, embrace opportunities and push the boundaries of what they are able to achieve. They are taking their advanced skills and knowledge and applying them in a commercial environment. Another thing that stood out is how altruistic many of them are. As STEM ambassadors, they use their skills and knowledge and inspire other young people; they donate their time to run practical workshops from soldering to coding, or even design and develop products specifically for the purpose of teaching basic computer science and programming.”

“If one attribute singles out the winners from their fellow engineers, it’s that they take nothing for granted when it comes to developing their careers in the electronics and technology industries,” commented Richard Wilson. “They’re not satisfied with the knowledge they gain at university or college; they are highly self-motivated young individuals who are always looking to develop new skills through personal projects and self-directed learning.”

EPDT offers its congratulations to the talented EW BrightSparks class of 2017:

John Alton, Lascar Electronics

Chelsea Back, AB Open

Robert Blenkinsopp, Ultrahaptics

Josh Boakes, Convert

Josh Bowen, He-Man Dual Controls Ltd

Daniele Capocci, Nissan Technical Centre Europe

Shuran Chan, Self-employed

Saloni Chhabra, Cadence Design Systems

Andrew Cowan, Cobham Antenna Systems

Alex Croucher, GB Electronics (UK)

Sherzaad Dinah, Nissan Technical Centre Europe

Ryan Dunwoody, Pi-Top

Josh Elijah, Engimake

Calum Finn, Nestle

Benjamin, Fitzpatrick, Dyson

Rob Green, Loughborough University

Daniel Harryman, Public sector technology and research organisation

James Hayman, Ametek

Keno Mario-Ghae, Imagination Technologies

Jacob Marsh, ModMyPi

Emilio Mistretta, University of Hertfordshire

Edward Nutting, University of Bristol

Lewis Osborne, JME

Sam Presley, University of Southampton / Dyson

Chris Shaw, Sensible Objects

Robert Smith, Plextek RFI

Roger Thornton, Raspberry Pi Organisation

Matt Timmons-Brown, The Raspberry Pi Guy

Tim Wiles, Peratech

Print this page | E-mail this page